Plan Commission & Zoning Board of Appeals

Municipalities in the State of Illinois are required to create a Plan Commission to conduct public hearings and make recommendations to the Board of Trustees regarding the Village’s Comprehensive Plan and requests for rezoning, special uses, and subdivisions. Villages are also required to create a Zoning Board of Appeals to hear requests for zoning variations and appeals of zoning regulations and interpretations and make recommendations on such matters to the Village Board of Trustees. In Burr Ridge, the members of the Plan Commission also serve as the Zoning Board of Appeals. The Village President/Mayor, with the consent of the Board of Trustees, the members. All members of the Plan Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals are volunteers and are residents of the Village.

Members: Chairman Greg Trzupek and Commissioners Mike Stratis, Janine Farrell, Jim Broline, Joe Petrich, Enza Parrella, and Barry Irwin.

Meetings: The Plan Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals scheduled meetings are on the first and third Monday of each month, 7:00 pm., at the Village Hall, except for holidays.

Petition Requests: Current requests before the Village are available for viewing using the links under “Current Petitions.” If you have questions about any current or former petitions before the Village, reach out to the staff liaison.


Evan Walter, Village Administrator; (630) 654-8181, ext. 2000


Procedures: The Plan Commission was established by Chapter 3, Section 1.3 of the Burr Ridge Municipal Code. The Municipal Code dictates the jurisdiction of the Plan Commission and allows the Commission to establish rules and procedures. To view a complete copy of the Plan Commission Rules of Procedure, please visit the Document Center.


Attendance and Public Comment Procedures: Due to the current limitations on social distancing and gatherings of no more than 50 persons in physical attendance set forth in place by the Declaration of a State of Emergency by the Governor of the State of Illinois based upon the ongoing novel coronavirus pandemic disaster, and upon the Chairman of the Plan Commission having determined that an in-person meeting is not practical or prudent, due to the ongoing novel coronavirus pandemic disaster, the hearing will be conducted utilizing a virtual environment, pursuant to Public Act 101-0640. While Village Hall will be open for the meeting, no more than 50 persons may be present at Village Hall at any one time, subject to applicable social distancing requirements.

Information and links to watch and listen to the most current meeting will be on the website’s front page and on the most current agenda. Public comments will be taken in advance of meetings via email at Public comments may also be made at the applicable time during the meeting by calling the currently listed number and entering the appropriate codes, all listed on the current agenda for the meeting. All participants will be muted upon entering the virtual meeting and be unmuted at the direction of the Chairman. Before voting on each agenda item, email comments for that agenda item will be read into the record, and the Chairman will pause to receive virtual comments. The same procedure will be followed for any person seeking to address the Plan Commission under Section VI – Public Comment.